Final call

The main discussion board for everything Tulane athletics related.
Jaxwave
Surge
Posts: 896
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 8:14 pm
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:24 pm

There is a stop action picture taken of the last play showing Banks’s elbow down short of the goal line and he had shifted ball from right to left as he was going down so I guess the call wasn’t as clear cut as it appeared. No real way to tell where ball is in relation to goal line as elbow touched down.
I still think the ref has to call TD there instead of short. He called it short based on elbow but that isn’t the deciding factor. It’s where ball is when elbow touched down.


dpm wave
Surge
Posts: 952
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 3:43 pm
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:35 pm

Pretty clearly a touchdown to me

http://www.espn.com/video/clip/_/id/21556791
Jaxwave
Surge
Posts: 896
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 8:14 pm
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:36 pm

I expect the conference to be completely transparent after reviewing this overnight and issue the following statement: “After a thorough review of the last call in the Tulane SMU game on Saturday, we have concluded that the game official had no idea of whether the Tulane player scored or not, and neither do we, but c’mon does anybody in the world of college football really care if Tulane gets screwed. Because they probably have the least interest of any team in the country, those kind of close calls against them should by now be expected by their fans.”

Now wouldn’t that be refreshing to see that kind of honesty.
User avatar
NOLABigSteve
Riptide
Posts: 3092
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 12:00 am
Location: New Orleans, LA
Contact:
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:41 pm

Jaxwave wrote:There is a stop action picture taken of the last play showing Banks’s elbow down short of the goal line and he had shifted ball from right to left as he was going down so I guess the call wasn’t as clear cut as it appeared. No real way to tell where ball is in relation to goal line as elbow touched down.
I still think the ref has to call TD there instead of short. He called it short based on elbow but that isn’t the deciding factor. It’s where ball is when elbow touched down.
Show me the pic.
Roll Wave!
Tulane University c/o 2003
Football Defensive End '99, '00, '01, '02
2002 Hawaii Bowl Champions
School of Engineering (Computer Science)
User avatar
msdos
Swell
Posts: 1246
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 8:25 pm
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:43 pm

dpm wave wrote:Pretty clearly a touchdown to me

http://www.espn.com/video/clip/_/id/21556791
The first slow-mo he looks down, the second slow-mo he looks in
Houma de Wave
Swell
Posts: 1324
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 8:53 pm
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:54 pm

There's no "elbow issue." He scored. The ball broke the plain. The review official needs to be terminated. The linesman (assuming he made the initial call) also needs to be terminated. Go back to your real jobs!
User avatar
tpstulane
Top of the WAVE
Posts: 17862
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:56 pm
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:16 pm

Jaxwave wrote:There is a stop action picture taken of the last play showing Banks’s elbow down short of the goal line and he had shifted ball from right to left as he was going down so I guess the call wasn’t as clear cut as it appeared. No real way to tell where ball is in relation to goal line as elbow touched down.
I still think the ref has to call TD there instead of short. He called it short based on elbow but that isn’t the deciding factor. It’s where ball is when elbow touched down.
Here’s the elbow but you can’t see if it’s down or not and the ball is still in his left hand. And you can’t see if it broke the plane from that angle.
Image

I would like to see a better picture.
Stadiums get old, winning never does.
Tulane Class of 1981
winwave
Wild Pelican
Posts: 12268
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 10:34 am
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:41 pm

His elbow is not down there. His elbow is up by his knee. That's right when their player flips him over. You can see on the video clearly that his elbow was not down.
Yulman is where Tulane athletics went to be buried! Tulane is small time for all time. It's time to put Tulane athletics in it's small space in life.
User avatar
Eaglewave
Swell
Posts: 1912
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 11:36 am
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:02 pm

His elbow is not down at all.
We want a Bowl Game in 2018!
Jaxwave
Surge
Posts: 896
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 8:14 pm
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:06 pm

It may not be down but that's what the ref was fooled by. Even if it is down and ball in left arm, the length of the football would mean it was breaking the plane. A camera from the opposite view would have proved conclusive. In my opinion that ref wanted to be the story rather than let the teams be the story.
User avatar
tpstulane
Top of the WAVE
Posts: 17862
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:56 pm
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:12 pm

Do you think LSU or Bama gets this call? No way in hell. It’s a TD. We won’t get the respect we deserve until we prove otherwise. The team and coaches got hosed and the entire school and it’s fans got shorted as well. Embarrassing for a league that is trying to claim P6 status. Really pathetic. How come they overturned our fumble run for a TD early in the game but they can’t overturn this?
Stadiums get old, winning never does.
Tulane Class of 1981
greenphantom
Swell
Posts: 1575
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 10:38 pm
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:13 pm

We fell victim to The Highland Park Screw Job
User avatar
GreenLantern
Swell
Posts: 1629
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 8:41 pm
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:32 pm

Famous sports nicknames:
Rumble in the Jungle
Thrilla in Manila
and now... The Phallus in Dallas
User avatar
tpstulane
Top of the WAVE
Posts: 17862
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:56 pm
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:45 pm

For those too young to remember:
Fifth Down Fran
Image

Image
Stadiums get old, winning never does.
Tulane Class of 1981
User avatar
RobertM320
Tsunami
Posts: 6488
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 8:18 pm
Location: Destrehan, LA
Contact:
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:48 pm

I really don't think there's any doubt he was in. When he fell, he fell on top of the other player and rolled over him into the end zone. I don't think his elbow touched.
"ASK AND YE SHALL RECEIVE! HANG EM AND BANG EM! HANG EM AND BANG EM!"-- Todd Graffagnini
winwave
Wild Pelican
Posts: 12268
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 10:34 am
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:51 pm

His elbow did not touch. That's right when their player flipped him over the goal line.
Yulman is where Tulane athletics went to be buried! Tulane is small time for all time. It's time to put Tulane athletics in it's small space in life.
User avatar
RobertM320
Tsunami
Posts: 6488
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 8:18 pm
Location: Destrehan, LA
Contact:
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:52 pm

winwave wrote:His elbow did not touch. That's right when their player flipped him over the goal line.
That's the way I see it as well. I wonder if Parker Waters or one of the other photogs at the game got a better shot?
"ASK AND YE SHALL RECEIVE! HANG EM AND BANG EM! HANG EM AND BANG EM!"-- Todd Graffagnini
User avatar
OUG
Riptide
Posts: 2668
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:59 am
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 6:22 pm

https://twitter.com/cjglasscock14/statu ... 6283195392

He STILL looks in from this angle. The ball breaks the plane, right? Or am I seeing what I want to see?

Also, his helmet is blocking what the goal line official would have been looking at, so there is NO WAY that call on the field should have been no TD.
User avatar
tpstulane
Top of the WAVE
Posts: 17862
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:56 pm
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 6:27 pm

He definitely touched the ground.
Image
Stadiums get old, winning never does.
Tulane Class of 1981
User avatar
OUG
Riptide
Posts: 2668
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:59 am
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 6:29 pm

tpstulane wrote: Image
The ball is across the plane there. Use his helmet as your reference point. Ball is level with the helmet, and his helmet his overlapping the goal line.

That’s a TD.
Last edited by OUG on Sat Nov 25, 2017 6:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
51WaveBG
High Tide
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 11:08 am
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 6:30 pm

:( :( :( What else can you expect from Daffy Duck football officials from a Mickey Mouse Conference? TU needs to make sure that NONE of these AAC officials ever be assigned to a TU game in the future, especially the replay official.
User avatar
RobertM320
Tsunami
Posts: 6488
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 8:18 pm
Location: Destrehan, LA
Contact:
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 6:31 pm

He's in.
"ASK AND YE SHALL RECEIVE! HANG EM AND BANG EM! HANG EM AND BANG EM!"-- Todd Graffagnini
User avatar
RobertM320
Tsunami
Posts: 6488
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 8:18 pm
Location: Destrehan, LA
Contact:
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 6:34 pm

Closer
"ASK AND YE SHALL RECEIVE! HANG EM AND BANG EM! HANG EM AND BANG EM!"-- Todd Graffagnini
User avatar
tpstulane
Top of the WAVE
Posts: 17862
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:56 pm
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 6:35 pm

OUG wrote:
tpstulane wrote: Image
The ball is across the plane there. Use his helmet as your reference point. Ball is level with the helmet, and his helmet his overlapping the goal line.

That’s a TD.
Could be but I can see them not being able to overturn the original call.
Stadiums get old, winning never does.
Tulane Class of 1981
User avatar
OUG
Riptide
Posts: 2668
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:59 am
Status: Offline

Sat Nov 25, 2017 6:36 pm

RobertM320 wrote:He's in.
Agreed. Is you look at all the reference points in the photo, he is in. There is no way the ball doesn’t break the plane there. There is also NO WAY the linesman can even see the ball so as to call him out on the field! His helmet is in the way of the linseman’s view. Given the clock situation, you HAVE to call a TD on the field there, and then you can do a run-off if the review proves he wasn’t. (Which it did not, because he was in).
Post Reply