Sad day for College Football

Discuss anything else athletic or non-athletic related that doesn't belong on the main Tulane athletics forum.
golfnut69
Wild Pelican

Vern Lundquist's last game.. Army - Navy....with Keith Jackson's retirement several years ago, the College Game has lost two very good friends

Be a Hero Today.... Adopt a Shelter Pet... The Beatles once sang "Can't Buy Me Love"... I disagree, unconditional Love can be bought, for the nominal adoption fee at your local Pet Shelter !
Jaxwave
Swell

I am a Tulane NROTC graduate, Naval Aviator for six years, then reserves. Navy is a fellow AAC member. My older brother is a West Point graduate, Ranger.
Even I feel bad enough for the Cadets after 14 years and more importantly the loss of a teammate in a car accident a few weeks ago to pull for Army today.
They are up 14-0 at half and Navy's 4th team QB is expectedly playing awful. If Army can't hold on and win this year, they might never win again.
Never thought I would say this but "Go Army, beat Navy!"
Almost scared to watch second half in fear of Army collapse, which would be devastating now.
Jaxwave
Swell

And right on cue, Army fumbles on first possession of second half and Navy converts, 14-7. The monkey on Army's back is getting heavier and heavier. Navy expects to win, Army to lose.
golfnut69
Wild Pelican

no matter the score...there are NO LOSERS on that field of play....I remember my first TV Telecast working for the NFL...Saints - Cowboys...Jimmy Johnson first regular season NFL Game..I was in the TV booth with Vern and John Madden....at that time Madden usually worked with Pat Summerall...but Summerall had a Golf tournament to do for CBS and Vern was brought in....Madden and Vern really did not get along...Vern was good friends with Bradshaw, and Madden was not a Bradshaw ...needless to say it was an interesting 4 plus hours !!!!